Major Portals
Motorcycle designers
Motorcycle engineers
Motorcycle manufacturers
Motorcycle pioneers
Motorcycle racing
My motorcycles
Page Menu
What links here
Site Menu
Recent updates
1992 Hungarian Grand Prix

The 1992 Hungarian motorcycle Grand Prix was the ninth round of the 1992 Grand Prix motorcycle racing season. It took place on the weekend of 10th-12th July, 1992 at the Hungaroring circuit.

500 cc race report

Wayne Rainey and Kevin Schwantz are back from injury, Schwantz with a thin cast that will allow him to ride. Yamaha introduced its YZR500 version of a "big bang" bike for Rainey. Rainey tried using the old engine with the new chassis, but the rear wheel spun too much and the power came on too abruptly.

Doug Chandler on pole; John Kocinski gets the start but rain brings out a red flag and a new race.

Wet re-start goes to Eddie Lawson, then Schwantz and Rainey. Randy Mamola moves to the lead.

Order becomes: Mamola, Rainey, Chandler and Schwantz. Chandler passes Rainey.

Lawson started the race with cut slicks, and as conditions dry out, he moves quickly through the field, passing Schwantz in 4th place. Crivillé pits and switches bikes.

Lawson passes Rainey, then Mamola. Chandler still ahead. Many riders are pitting to change tires.

Lawson passes Chandler with 2 laps to go. It is Cagiva's first win in the premier class.

Schwantz: "To finish where I finished, actually in front of him, was almost a race win in itself for me. To have had Wayne as far out in front of me as he was early in the race, to reel him in and pass him and to leave with more points on him was great."

500cc classification

1USEddie LawsonCagiva58:21.78620
2USDoug ChandlerSuzuki+14.19415
3USRandy MamolaYamaha+37.73012
4USKevin SchwantzSuzuki+1:03.60810
5USWayne RaineyYamaha+1:07.6628
6AustraliaWayne GardnerHonda+1:35.3526
7USJohn KocinskiYamaha+1:42.7244
8SpainJuan GarrigaYamaha+1:45.0773
9BrazilAlex BarrosCagiva+1 Lap2
10IrelandEddie LaycockYamaha+1 Lap1
11CanadaMiguel DuhamelYamaha+1 Lap
12New ZealandAndrew StroudROC Yamaha+1 Lap
13FranceThierry CrineROC Yamaha+1 Lap
14UKNiall MackenzieYamaha+2 Laps
15FranceDominique SarronROC Yamaha+2 Laps
16GermanyMichael RudroffHarris Yamaha+2 Laps
17NetherlandsCees DoorakkersHarris Yamaha+3 Laps
18USPeter GravesHarris Yamaha+3 Laps
19LuxembourgAndreas LeutheVRP+3 Laps
20SwitzerlandSerge DavidROC Yamaha+4 Laps
21AustriaJosef DopplerROC Yamaha+4 Laps
RetSwitzerlandNicholas SchmassmanROC YamahaRetirement
RetFranceClaude ArcieroROC YamahaRetirement
RetJapanToshiyuki ArakakiROC YamahaRetirement
RetUKKevin MitchellHarris YamahaRetirement
RetItalyLucio PederciniPatonRetirement
RetSpainAlex CrivilleHondaRetirement
RetItalyCorrado CatalanoROC YamahaRetirement