Major Portals
Motorcycle designers
Motorcycle engineers
Motorcycle manufacturers
Motorcycle pioneers
Motorcycle racing
My motorcycles
Page Menu
What links here
Site Menu
Recent updates
1991 British Grand Prix

The 1991 British motorcycle Grand Prix was the eleventh round of the 1991 Grand Prix motorcycle racing season. It took place on the weekend of 2 -August 4, 1991 at Donington Park.

500cc race report

Kevin Schwantz on pole, Wayne Rainey 0.02 seconds back in 2nd, Mick Doohan 1 second down in 6th. John Kocinski gets the start from 3rd over Wayne Gardner, Doohan and Rainey.

Kocinski opens up a small gap to Schwantz, then a gap to a 3-man fight for 3rd between Rainey, Gardner and Doohan.

Schwantz takes the lead from Kocinski as Rainey arrives to make it a trio. Doohan makes it a quartet on lap 7.

Rainey and Schwantz drop Doohan and Kocinski, and they are swapping the lead often.

On the last lap approaching the Melbourne Hairpin, from far behind Schwantz swoops in on Rainey on the brakes and passes on the outside to take the win easily.

500cc classification

1USKevin SchwantzSuzuki47:12.18220
2USWayne RaineyYamaha+0.78817
3AustraliaMick DoohanHonda+19.18815
4USJohn KocinskiYamaha+24.85713
5AustraliaWayne GardnerHonda+29.61711
6USEddie LawsonCagiva+31.17910
7UKNiall MackenzieYamaha+35.3489
8BelgiumDidier de RadiguèsSuzuki+37.8468
9SpainJuan GarrigaYamaha+49.9677
10ItalyMarco PapaCagiva+1 Lap6
11IrelandEddie LaycockYamaha+1 Lap5
12UKRon HaslamNorton+1 Lap4
13GermanyMichael RudroffHonda+2 Laps3
14NetherlandsCees DoorakkersHonda+2 Laps2
15LuxembourgAndreas LeutheSuzuki+2 Laps1
16GermanyHelmut SchutzHonda+3 Laps
17AustriaJosef DopplerYamaha+3 Laps
RetFranceJean Philippe RuggiaYamahaRetirement
RetItalyMichele ValdoPatonRetirement
RetSwitzerlandNicholas SchmassmanHondaRetirement
RetFranceAdrien MorillasYamahaRetirement
RetGermanyHans BeckerYamahaRetirement
RetSpainSito PonsHondaRetirement
RetUSDoug ChandlerYamahaRetirement
Previous race:
1991 French Grand Prix
FIM MotoGP World Championship
1991 season
Next race:
1991 San Marino Grand Prix
Previous race:
1990 British Grand Prix
British Grand PrixNext race:
1992 British Grand Prix