Major Portals
Motorcycle designers
Motorcycle engineers
Motorcycle manufacturers
Motorcycle pioneers
Motorcycle racing
My motorcycles
Page Menu
What links here
Site Menu
Recent updates
1990 British Grand Prix
1990 British Grand Prix
Race details
Race 11 of 15 races in the
1990 Grand Prix motorcycle racing season.
Donnington Park
Date5 August 1990
LocationDonington Park
CoursePermanent racing facility
2.5 mi / 4.023 km
Pole positionFastest lap
AustraliaWayne GardnerUSKevin Schwantz
1. USKevin Schwantz
2. USWayne Rainey3. USEddie Lawson
Pole positionFastest lap
USJohn KocinskiItalyLuca Cadalora
1. ItalyLuca Cadalora
2. JapanMasahiro Shimizu3. GermanyHelmut Bradl
Pole positionFastest lap
GermanyStefan PreinNetherlandsHans Spaan
1. ItalyLoris Capirossi
2. ItalyDoriano Romboni3. NetherlandsHans Spaan

The 1990 British motorcycle Grand Prix was the eleventh round of the 1990 Grand Prix motorcycle racing season. It took place on the weekend of 3 -5 August 1990 at Donington Park.

500 cc race report

Cagiva announces that after 10 years of participation it will withdraw from GP at the end of the season, citing cost overruns and lack of results. It's a false alarm, as they continue until 1994. Pierfrancesco Chili is replaced by Carl Fogarty.

Wayne Rainey gets a good start, but by the Craner Curves he’s passed by Eddie Lawson, and is followed by Niall Mackenzie, Mick Doohan and Kevin Schwantz.

Rainey retakes the lead from Lawson, but Schwantz is now behind them. Wayne Gardner is out of the race with a mechanical and Fogarty crashes out.

Rainey still ahead, but Schwantz has moved into second ahead of Lawson at the chicane. Schwantz picks that same spot for his pass on Rainey, and is now in first. He opens up the gap and cruises to the win ahead of Rainey and Lawson.

500cc classification

1USKevin SchwantzSuzuki47:15.77020
2USWayne RaineyYamaha+2.13817
3USEddie LawsonYamaha+9.43615
4AustraliaMick DoohanHonda+40.38313
5UKNiall MackenzieSuzuki+59.60811
6USRandy MamolaCagiva+1:07.65010
7SpainJuan GarrigaYamaha+1:21.3869
8FranceChristian SarronYamaha+1:22.6848
9FranceJean Philippe RuggiaYamaha+1:26.3857
10UKRon HaslamCagiva+1:35.5496
11BrazilAlex BarrosCagiva+1:36.0415
12IrelandEddie LaycockHonda+1 Lap4
13ItalyMarco PapaHonda+1 Lap3
14LuxembourgAndreas LeutheHonda+1 Lap2
RetAustraliaWayne GardnerHondaRetirement
RetUKCarl FogartyHondaRetirement
RetNetherlandsCees DoorakkersHondaRetirement
RetSpainSito PonsHondaRetirement
Previous race:
1990 French Grand Prix
FIM MotoGP World Championship
1990 season
Next race:
1990 Swedish Grand Prix
Previous race:
1989 British Grand Prix
British Grand PrixNext race:
1991 British Grand Prix